In a single volume this work attempts to cover architecture, sculpture, applied arts, painting, graphic arts, literature, theatre, cinema, photography, music, opera and ballet, while focusing on western artistic pursuits. Entries are extremely brief. N31.E54
Attempting to cover American painting, sculpture, architecture, glass, silver, furniture, printmaking, folk art, photography and handicrafts, this title contains an index (guide) to the different divisions of art, a glossary and a bibliography. N6505.B73
Both online and 2 print volumesof this work covers all aspects of the arts during this time period. Particularly useful are topical articles and discussions over artistic works associated with the romantic movement. Articles conclude with listings of selected works and bibliographies. Online and NX452.5.R64 E53 2004
Formerly known as the Grove Dictionary of Art, this is the primary encyclopedia of art in English. The 34 volume set contains lengthly articles on people, places, buildings, organizations, and works of art. This is a good place to start to gather some dates and basic terminology along with bibliographies at the end of articles for referral to further information. Print version is also available: N31.D5 1996
Find here entries consisting of biographical information on Naïve artists with additional essay chapters, a lengthy bibliography, an index to artist by country and extensive illustrations. N6494.P7 B54 1985
Covers silent cartoon series, theatrical sound cartoon series, full-length animated features, television cartoon series, and animated television specials. Includes an extensive historical overview of animation and information about Academy and Emmy award winners. Online
This is an extensive guide to resources in the applied and decorative arts with chapters on ornament; folk art; armor; ceramics; clocks, watches, automata, and scientific instruments; costume; enamels; furniture; glass; ivory; jewellery; lacquer; leather and bookbinding; medals and seals; metalwork; musical instruments; textiles; toys and dolls; wallpaper and applied and decorative arts in general, with annotations.
Focusing on reference sources in art, though dated, this work remains helpful for annotated entries to resources on art topics along with explanations on the types of resources available. WSU library call numbers have been inserted in the margins for holdings as of 2002.
In 3 volumes this is a reprint of the original 1918-1921 title. This documents art sales of the eighteenth century through the early twentieth century. Listed by artist, this records the date of auction, the auctioneer, the owner, lot number and title of work in question, purchaser and sale price.
A product of the Smithsonian Institution, this 4 volume annotated bibliography covers art of Native Americans, architecture, decorative arts, design, sculpture, art of the west, painting, graphic arts and artists, photography, film, theater, dance, and music. Volume 4 is an index.
Provides information on U.S. and Canadian comic art, animation, caricature, and gag, political, illustrative, and magazine cartoons. Provides citations of books, chapters, articles, and "fugitive" materials gleaned from a variety of sources worldwide, including many periodicals and journals.
Titles of artistic creations (plays, novels, films, musical works, paintings, and etc.), characters (historical and mythical), biblical personages, historical events and geographical names, are here given in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and Russian, with cross-indices in French, German, Italian, Spanish and Russian.
In 3 parts, part one discusses general research in Greek, Etruscan and Roman art and architecture. Part two focuses on mythology in art and literature. And part three examines various media such as Athenian vases and engraved gems.
This dictionary focuses on the medieval period and the distinctive ways in which the subjects and symbols referenced in the work evolved and developed during the Middle Ages. It provides an overview of the evolution, development, popularity, and transformations that took place in medieval artistic iconography.
This provides an overview of Romanticism, focusing on its major artists, architects, stylistic subcategories, ideas, and historical framework of the late 18th century style. Provided here is a chronology, an introductory essay, an extensive bibliography, and over 200 cross-referenced dictionary entries on famous artists, sculptors, architects, patrons, and other historical figures and events.
This title covers all aspects of Rococo art history through a chronology, an introductory essay, a review of the literature, an extensive bibliography, and over 350 cross-referenced dictionary entries on prominent Rococo painters, sculptors, decorative artists, architects, patrons, theorists, and critics, as well as major centers of artistic production.
A biographical and methodological database intended as a beginning point to learning the background of major art historians of western art history. A free, copyrighted, scholarly database for the use of researchers, students and the public.
CPANDA, the Cultural Policy & the Arts National Data Archive, is the world's first interactive digital archive of policy-relevant data on the arts and cultural policy in the United States, a collaborative effort of Princeton University's Firestone Library and the Princeton Center for Arts and Cultural Policy Studies.
The Getty Research Portal™ is an online search platform providing global access to digitized art history texts. Through this multilingual, multicultural union catalog, scholars can search and download complete digital copies of publications for the study of art, architecture, material culture, and related fields. The Portal is free to all users.
The Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History presents a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history through The Met collection. It is a reference, research, and teaching tool conceived for students and scholars of art history. Authored by The Met’s experts, the Timeline comprises 300 chronologies, close to 1000 essays, and over 7000 works of art. It is regularly updated and enriched to provide new scholarship and insights on the collection.