An interactive resource with images and video clips for visual demonstration of the entries by ABT dancers. This also includes 170 terms from the Dover Publications title "Technical Manual and Dictionary of Classical Ballet."
An American Ballroom Companion presents a collection of over two hundred social dance manuals at the Library of Congress. The list begins with a rare late fifteenth-century source, Les basses danses de Marguerite d'Autriche (c.1490) and ends with Ella Gardner's 1929 Public dance halls, their regulation and place in the recreation of adolescents. Along with dance instruction manuals, this online presentation also includes a significant number of antidance manuals, histories, treatises on etiquette, and items from other conceptual categories. Many of the manuals also provide historical information on theatrical dance. All illuminate the manner in which people have joyfully expressed themselves as they dance for and with one another.
A product of the Smithsonian Institution, this 4 volume annotated bibliography covers art of Native Americans, architecture, decorative arts, design, sculpture, art of the west, painting, graphic arts and artists, photography, film, theater, dance, and music. Volume 4 provides an index.
This is an index to stories/synopsis and other related materials (i.e., illustrations, historical background, criticism and analysis) to ballets. Where applicable, annotated with WSU Libraries call numbers in the list of indexed sources.
Focusing on ballet, contains concise entries for works, themes, companies, institutions, awards, people, places and techniques, often including selected works lists. A previous edition is located on the 3rd floor.
Covering classical ballet and western theatrical dance, this contains articles on major dancers, choreographers, companies and dance works. Many articles contain a bibliography for further reading. Use the index in the back to locate information on a particular subject or name.
Consult this title for definitions, expressions and phrases, organized by context. For example ‘Aerial work’ may be found in the chapter on The Dance Domain and the chapter on Movement and the Moving Body. Use the index in the back to locate the desired term or phrase.
This dictionary of culture (including biographical entries) covers architecture, artistic theory, film, literature, craft, design, dance, fashion, music, mythology, painting, photography, sculpture and theatre, all throughout history.
This work covers not only the visual arts but music, film, dance and theater. Though rather brief, articles include bibliographies for further reading. This is the second edition of this work. An earlier version is also available.
Titles of artistic creations (plays, novels, films, musical works, paintings, and etc.), characters (historical and mythical), biblical personages, historical events and geographical names, are here given in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and Russian, with cross-indices in French, German, Italian, Spanish and Russian.
About “the people who made the movies dance,” part I is a decade by decade look at dance in film, while part II is a section of biographies (with film credits). Covers 1893 through 1995. An appendix lists films and their associated choreographers.
In 2 volumes, this contains extensive entries on artists, ballets and companies related to classical ballet. Work (ballet) entries list the choreographer, composer, designer, along with initial production information and other notable productions. Artist entries contain a list of roles. Choreographer and composer entries contain works lists. A bibliography is found at the end of each article.
In 6 volumes, find here lengthy articles on dancers, choreographers, composers, companies, theaters, countries, techniques, theatrical dance titles and other issues of dance (i.e., television, dance medicine, etc.). This encyclopedia focuses on three major areas of dance: Western theatrical dance, theatrical dance in the non-Western world and ritual and recreational forms of dance. These volumes cover all styles and types of dance with bibliographies at the ends of articles. Volume 6 contains an index to access topics within articles on broader subjects.
Contains concise entries for works, themes, forms, companies, people, places and technical terminology. Emphasizes theatrical dancing but also covers ballet, modern, folk and social dancing. Sometimes provides reference to associated works. Earlier editions are available online and in print: GV1585.C78 2000.
In 2 volumes this is an index to artworks (in the fine arts, music, dance and literature) from the Renaissance through the 20th century with subjects in Greek and Roman mythology. Main entries are found under their Greek titles, with cross-references from Roman names. Volume 2 also contains an index to artists with works listed in main entries.
In 2 volumes, this title covers essential biographical information for international artists of the stage including opera, dance, music, theater, film and television personalities. Entries include the artist’s stage name, alias or billing name (where applicable), real name, names of parents, name of spouse(s), date and place of birth, date and place of death, type(s) or work done, source(s) of obituaries, and any book-length biographies in English.