Skip to main content

Ebooks @ WSU Libraries

This guide describes ebook resources available through WSU Libraries and how to access and download them.

Free Ebooks

                        

 

Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts
A collection of public domain books and documents in American and English literature and western philosophy. Browsable by author, title, and date.

Amazon Kindle Free Classics
Free for Kindle users (including Kindle app). Includes out of copyright classics as well as some free promotional materials

Bartleby.com
A collection of about 100 reference books, poetry, fiction, and non-fiction. Featuring such works as Gray's Anatomy, Bartlett's Familiar Quotations, Strunk's Elements of Style. Classic texts as well as contemporary reference works.

Google Books
Enables users to search the full-text of millions of books.  However, not all of the books are available in full-text -- some are, but most are not. There are varying levels of access to the full-text of each book. The books in Google Book Search come primarily from two sources: publishers and libraries. Over 15 million searchable titles. Users can view some full-text books depending on publisher.

Google Play Free EBooks
Download free EBooks from Google. 

Humanities Text Initiative
A collection of literary, historical, and religious texts developed by the University of Michigan. Includes projects such as the American Verse project and the Making of America.

Internet Archive
Non-profit digital library offering free access to books, movies, and music as well as 150 billion archived web pages.

Library of American Civilization Titles
A collection of online titles freely available on the Internet from the Library of American Civilization microfiche collection held by Quinnipiac University, Hamden CT. Derived from online titles maintained by the University of Pennsylvania at their Online Books Page (see below).

National Academies Press
Freely available online access to over 3,300 reports published by NAP.

Online Books Page
A directory of links to over 16,000 of books available on the Internet. Hosted by the University of Pennsylvania Library. Browsable by author, title, and subject.

Open Library
Open, editable library catalog, building a web page for every book every published.

Project Gutenberg
A collection of approximately 2,500 classics including Shakespeare, Poe, Dante, Lewis Carroll. Browsable by author or title. Can download over 33,000 free ebooks to your PC, iPAD, Kindle, Sony Reader, iPhone, Android or other mobile devices.

University of Pittsburg Press:Digital Editions
Over 500 free books on Latin America; Russian & East European Studies; and Composition, Literacy, & Culture. Many were out-of-print, but now made available online. Search within the books, or browse by author, title, or topic.

Wichita State University Libraries, 1845 Fairmount, Wichita, KS 67260-0068 | Phone: (316) 978-3481 |